wallsofsilence.com

Childhood trauma and its consequences
It is currently Sun Nov 19, 2017 9:44 pm

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]

Post subject: child abuse apologists
PostPosted: Mon Apr 12, 2010 9:00 pm 
Site Admin

A new study - Spanking Kids Leads to More Aggressive Behavior - draws the usual apologists. At this article at Time, a load of people feel the need to mention that they were spanked as a kid and they spank their kids and there's nothing wrong with them. The following reply is typical for these kind of responses.

One of the comments wrote:
I totally dissagree. I have 2 children and i spank them just like i was spanked as a child. I did not grow up violent or aggressive. Plus i graduated high school with honers and i was on the honer role in college so myself getting spanked didn't affect my IQ in anyway. I have seen children who get the time out treatment and i believe they might actually act out more just for the attention.

I would translate this as: I was being exposed to violence as a child, and now I'm violent and aggressive against my own children, but there's nothing wrong with it because it's not violence because there's nothing wrong with me. Sometimes the walls of ignorance are too big.

Dennis

Report this post
PostPosted: Sat Apr 17, 2010 11:41 am 

I suspect most child abuse apologists who post comments on the internet come from the southern states of the USA. The following article gives examples of child-hostile humor in America. There are a couple of images showing anti-child captions... http://sandradodd.com/notfunny

Quote:
"What I seem to have seen is that any disrespect of children, woman or minorities is more open for whatever reasons in the south compared to the north."